Technique First

Home Forums General USRPT Topics Technique First

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    juddy_009
    Participant

Hi all,
    Firstly thanks to everyone who posts, really love getting new ideas about the best ways to improve. I’m a former Olympic trials swimmer from Australia and have recently made a comeback after 4 years out of the water. USRPT allows me to train efficiently in amongst full time work. I am currently using USRPT to train myself (specifically for the 50 & 100 free & fly) would love to start the technique conversation as I recently read a comment from a fellow poster suggesting we need to be focusing more on technique rather than the fitness/physiology.

I have uploaded a couple of videos of myself swimming a couple of strokes at 100 pace from different angles. Would love to hear any feedback anybody has (links below). I am a former coach myself but feel that ‘fresh eyes’ from those who have presumably also read the ‘technique bible’ would certainly help both myself and the discussion generated will hopefully benefit the rest of the community.

Cheers

Free side angle:

Breast side angle:

Fly side angle:

Fly kick side angle:

Free Front angle:

Fly Front angle:

Breast Front angle:

lipearse
    Participant

Hey juddy_009!! Thank you for getting this type of discussion happening! I admire your bravery uploading videos of yourself for critique. I’ve attached some very brief initial observations and suggestions for your freestyle. Would love to know your thoughts, and what your intentions/focus is at the moment in the pool.

Where are you in Australia? It’d be great to have a swim with a fellow USRPTer some time!

lipearse
    Participant

Sorry, maximum file size is very limited with posting annotated images. Here are the main observations I’ve made. The attachment shows the most significant (i think).

Your streamline looks very good.