50m Training – Sprint USRPT

Home Forums General USRPT Topics 50m Training – Sprint USRPT

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Batman767
    Participant

Hi All,

Hoping people can help me with 50m freestyle training. The below is my current training routine. I have been training using USRPT for 6 months and really enjoy it, but was training for 200m free. I have switched focus to 50m free now (current pb 26.1) and have based the following routine from the sprint usrpt guide. Could people give me advice on the following, Thank you in advance.

Current weekly routine:

Monday/Wednesday/Friday: training the 50m race
    – warm-up (400m)
    – set 1: 25m reps (to failure e.g two below best practice time as prescribed in the sprint USRPT guide)
    – recovery: 200m and 5-10mins on the wall
    – Set 2: 15m reps (to failure ….)
    – warm down

Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday: training the 100m race
    – warm-up (400m)
    – set 1: 25m reps (30x25m, but the normal failure method as prescribed by the normal usrpt)
    – set 2: repeat set 1
    – warm down

Sunday:
    Off

A few notes:
    – My kick does need to improve, not sure if USRPT advocates kick sets?
    – I don’t do any technique sets, as I incorporate them into my sets, not sure if people agree with this.
    – I do not do any dry land training, with the exception of stretching. Do people recommend this also.

ryanupper
    Participant

It’s good that you started with the 200 but you need to keep plugging in 200 sets twice a week. I would plug them in on your Mon/Wed sprint days. This is also your opportunity to work on turns 100% VO2max Development Concepts