1500 Training

Home Forums General USRPT Topics 1500 Training

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    OSullivan
    Participant

Hi I’m a professional triathlete and super interested in USRPT

I have been adjusting my training over past years to be more like USRPT before I even knew what USRPT was and have been pleased with the results thus far.

I have some questions about training for the 1500

1) I know with USRPT they say get in up 6X the race distance in volume in a practice. In my experience I find 2K is about all I can handle doing repeat 100’s and 50’s. And I cant do that more than 2 days in a row. On day 3 I just cant hit the paces needed.

I track HRV levels as well and it shows day 3 to be off as well

2) How many days a week do 1500M swimmers swim doing USRPT?

3) Are there days where 1500M swimmers do much less volume to accommodate recovery?

4) How much mixed stroke is used if any?

5) what about USRPT kick sets?

6) what dose a USRPT typical warm up look like?

any other things you all thing are important to add to my questions I’d love to hear

• This topic was modified 10 years, 3 months ago by OSullivan.
    Greg Tucker
    Participant

You have lots of good questions. Have you looked at Rushall’s bulletins. I suspect much may be covered in the Bulletins. We have limited experience with distance training and USRPT so afraid I can’t help much.

Greg Tucker
    #USRPT

Tyloma
    Participant

I am very much in favor of USRPT but I have meet wtih disaster in any distance swimming. It is frustrating as the USRPT makes sense and is based on out come based science.
    I am experimenting wth traditional endurance swimming and mixing in some USRPT at 100 level. Anything shorer such as 50’s or 75’s give me no endurance even in a 500
    If you find something that works please let me know

Greg Tucker
    Participant