Difference in adaptation to USRPT between men and women

Home Forums General USRPT Topics Difference in adaptation to USRPT between men and women

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Andy1
    Participant

HI
    I am new to the forum, though I have been playing with my own form of USRPT for the past 3 years, while I attempted to change my team over from full OS (5-8k per session) to full USRPT. 3 months a go I finally got to the stage where I could make the full change.
    I have 3 international level swimmers that I have fully converted to USRPT, 2 males and a female. While the males are handling the training very well, though as yet have not quite converted the training pace to in race time, the girl is struggling. She is a breaststroke swimmer primarily, though she is also very much an all rounder, so varying stroke to rest muscle groups is not a problem in training. However she cannot do race pace day after day.
    Currently we are doing 2 days of 400 race distance (so in the day she can do 200 x2 or 4×100 or 200+ 2×100 etc). We have 2 sessions available each day so she can split the 400 up how she feels. After this she has 1 day either off or 200 total. Then 2 days 400 again and then 1 day race prep (usually we will do a timed race set of 6 x50 or 3 x100 etc with a lot of rest between each)
    So a training week looks like this
    Mon, Tue 400 set
    Wed off or 200
    Thu, Fri 400 set
    Sat race simulation
    Sun off