How do I time myself?

Home Forums General USRPT Topics How do I time myself?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    billratio
    Participant

I have a question for those masters/self training swimmers out there.

What is the best device to purchase to time myself for USRPT? I’ve looked at reviews for some watches and have also considered a tempo trainer. What have you found helpful? I’m only doing 50s and 25s.

"Most people have the will to win. Few have the will to prepare to win."

kevin
    Participant

I use a sportcount “finger chrono”. Works well for me.
    http://www.sportcount-europe.co.uk/sportcount.php

Gary P
    Participant

I use a Speedo SD55137. Got it off Amazon, although it’s not currently available there. I did find one on ebay out of England: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mens-Speedo-Black-LCD-Quartz-sports-vibrating-alarm-watch-SD55136-/281655906580?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item4194001114

I like this over the tempo-timer because you can program different intervals for the swim and recovery cycles. I’ve only had it 3 months, but I’m very pleased so far. It’s much better than trying to use the facility’s pace clock, especially for 25’s. Even though the local pool has high-brightness digital display pace clocks at both ends of the pool, rarely are the two in exact sync. Once oxygen deprivation started kicking in, I was always fumbling with he mental math of adjusting touch time targets and start intervals.