Macro planning/periodization

Home Forums General USRPT Topics Macro planning/periodization

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    kevin
    Participant

Hi all,

I’ve been doing USRPT since march/april 2014 with swimmers ranging from 13 to 18. After a year now, I have some issues and questions I’d like feedback on.

The big one is: How do you(!) do periodization/macro planning in USRPT? And can you do it at all?

There are basically 3 variables you can play with: volume, target time and rest.
    As I understand Rushall, you don’t vary them at all for the sake of periodization. It just happens more organically:
    – volume: increases as the swimmer adapts to a training impulse
    – target time: lowers when you swim a PR or make the set a few times
    – rest: pretty much fixed (15s – 20s)

I have trouble with understanding whether there is a need for periodization or not. E.g., you don’t plan “more intense/overload weeks”, since that wouldn’t match pure USRPT.

In his DVD’s and papers Rushall mentions the overload and supercompensation cycle. But as I understand it, he doesn’t doctor practices as such to artifically introduce load and supercompensation (as opposed to traditional training).

So, basically what I experience as a coach is that I feel less in control of what happens as with “traditional training” where I got to decide when we would train hard and when we would have more recovery.

I’ll sketch the way we’ve been doing it the past year, please do comment/criticize this!

We have 6 sessions/week of 2 hours. We mainly focus on 50, 100, 200 and 400m events. So, say a USRPT set lasts 15m and recovery also 15m, this gives me 4 “blocks” per session. Usually, I set up a practice as 1 block skills + 3 blocks USRPT sets. The exception is a set for 400m. Since that is usually 30 to 40×50, which takes longer (~1,5 to 2 blocks).

Step 1: