Tech suits

Home Forums General USRPT Topics Tech suits

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    doc
    Participant

This is my first year of coaching college swimmers and I found that college coaches that we compete against get all butt hurt when our kids swim in tech suits. I could care less what they wear as long as we don’t swim naked. The reasons I’ve heard for not wearing tech suits during the season makes no sense.

Never did I care what they wore as a club coach. Regular suit in prelims and then tech suit in finals or tech in prelims and then tech suit in finals. What ever floats your boat. Just be FAST!

Any college coaches have any ideas how this got started?

oldschool

? All that is not shared... is lost.

billratio
    Participant

Not a college coach but I deal with the same thing in high school swimming. My number 1 frustration here is that our girls can only swim two events at the final meet and with their club team they can swim 7 events at their final meet. So they only wear a tech suit for 2 events with me and then 7 with club. They wind up thinking they got a lot better in club in 5 of their 7 events when in reality they could have gone pretty good times on everything in high school season if tech suits weren’t frowned upon so much.

At the last few meets of the year I encouraged some of my swimmers to wear tech suits to break some records and see how fast they could go in off events. I swam them JV so it wouldn’t change the outcome of the meet but still managed to upset the other coach at one meet.

I wore a tech suit in college in off events and it was frowned upon by my teammates and probably other teams.