Traditional + USRPT = ?

Home Forums General USRPT Topics Traditional + USRPT = ?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Alatorre
    Participant

I have a question on if USRPT should be mixed with traditional training. Myself, a high school swimmer, would prefer to train just USRPT, which I would do on my own, but my coach would prefer that I train with the team (traditional). Now I don’t mind the extra training, it’s that if traditional training could give mixed results, would it be better to train straight USRPT or both? Also if anybody has some advice on self training, anything you can think of to do with it, it’d be helpful.

crmejean
    Participant

Let me preface my response by making sure you know that I am not a coach, and I have no experience as a swimmer. My three kids have been swimming for about six years. They are 13 & 10 year old boys and a 10 year old girl. We left our team in October, and my husband and I have been training them and swimming USA meets unattached. My husband is an official, so he does have knowledge in that area, but he also has no experience as a swimmer. He has returned to work full time and left all of the training to me.