Usrpt for 3k, 5k and 10k open waters

Home Forums General USRPT Topics Usrpt for 3k, 5k and 10k open waters

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    IKS Swimming
    Participant

Hello swimmers and coaches!
    I’m new here but very passionate about USRPT! I’m a Brazilian coach living and working in Costa Rica.
    I work with high school swimmer doing regionals and nationals and also with open water swimmers and triathletes! So far for our swimming community, our athletes are doing well getting first and second places in nationals competitions!

I’m a real geek about swimming so I’ve been studying new technics and training methods all the time, I think we always can improve!

I’ve been studying the Usrpt for a while, reading everything its possible and watching all videos that I can find on youtube.. but so far I’m not sure about it(unfortunately I didn’t find any online curse that can show me i’m in the right direction) so I’ve tested myself before to give to my team, and so far I’m feeling stronger and getting a feel for the water again. Right now I’m doing 1,5k open water and feeling my times are dropping and I’m swimming more conscious and knowing in what to focus on a race. Also helped me to have a different focus during a race, much more about sticking with my pace and technique than in the other swimmers or anything out of what I should think. for sure the dryland exercises is increased and that part made me feel more confident about my physical condition and believing that I can beat myself in the next practice.

I’m wondering if its possible to bring the same concept for long races as 3, 5 and 10k open water…

Thank you very much for your attention!

Pura Vida!

ryanupper
    Participant

This is a very interesting topic that is only loosely addressed in USRPT literature.