Thoughts on a new feedback device for USRPT

Home Forums General USRPT Topics Thoughts on a new feedback device for USRPT

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    RJF96
    Participant

Hi all,

I’m studying Sports Engineering in Glasgow, Scotland and for my 4th year design project I am designing a device that will adhere to the specific needs of coaches and swimmers who do USRPT. I hope to address the problems that the swimmer/coach has obtaining accurate time feedback (within 0.2s), specifically in 15/20m sprint training. The device will be able to give immediate feedback on how fast a swimmer has swum over a specific repetition distance and inform if they have met their “target time” (within 0.2s or faster). I’ve personally been doing variations of USRPT for about 8 years as a swimmer (Free Style SC) but through my research I have developed a greater understanding of the importance of specificity in training and how USRPT addresses this.

The coaches I have spoken to have various approaches to the issues of defining the 15m for the swimmers (stroke count, metronomes, floor markers to name a few) , and have found that the closest a swimmer knows if they’ve “failed” or not on a repetition is with 1-1 coaching with a stop watch and visual markers for the coach.

I would be really grateful if you could give me an insight to your own methods of timing the 15/20m race distance and struggles you have using USRPT on other race distances too? And if a product like this were to exist – how often would you use it and what functions would you like the most from it?

I’m really interested how coaches would want to interact with the product as well as the swimmer – would you want to know what times (or simply indication of pass/fail) from the device as well as the swimmer?

Any information and feedback you have on my project would be really appreciated,

Many Thanks

Rachel

ryanupper
    Participant

Rachel,

Here is triton wear https://www.tritonwear.com/