Workout draft

Home Forums General USRPT Topics Workout draft

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    yassine

He’ll, I am 36 years old master swimmer, I am new to swimming, 3 years experience, I love it and want to reach my full potential.

I would like to train in USRPT to prepare for following race 50 back.
    My best times on those races are
    50 back 37:73

I have gotten last week my 1st summer national qualification in the 50 back that I will be swimming in July.

Having found the original paper not easy to understand, I would like help in drafting a full uSRPT workout.

Ps: I train in 25 meters pool, I train in my club twice a week, with one additional time per week alone Which is when I’d like to train in USRPT.

Thanks

Greg Tucker
    Participant

Are you training specifically for the 50 back? And only the 50 back?

Greg Tucker
    #USRPT

yassine

Next week, I am hoping I can get my ticket to summer nationals in July for the 50 free and 50 breast as well, if I do then it will be for 50 in back, free, breast stroke.

As to This year, I have been doing a lot of 100/ 200 IM work.

Greg Tucker
    Participant

50s are a different beast in USRPT. 12.5 and 25s are the yardage. All reps should be all out based on your desired time. 15 secs of rest between each rep. Lots of skill work on starts, Underwaters, breakouts and finishes.

Reps for 12.5s would 12-20. Reps for 50s would be 6-10. Timing would be to 1/10 of second, If you fail, sit. No slow swimming when you train for 50s. Don’t cheat. If you miss, sit. You can dive on one end, then push on the other end.

Typically no more than 2 strokes per set. Would do 3 sets on M, W, F. 2 sets on T, Th, S. Two weeks before meet I would unload a bit more by doing 2 sets on F.
    The week of the meet I would do 3 sets Monday, 2 on Tues, 2 on Wed, 2 on Th and 1 on Friday assuming you swim Sat.

I would do lots of starts throughout.

Just my $0.02. Others may have different ideas.

Good luck.